Synology Hyper Backup

In a previous blog post, I described how I set up my Synology NAS to create network backups on another machine using

Synology: Backup & Replication Backup Destination – Create Network Backup Destination Backup – Create Backup and set a schedule

Well, unfortunately, one of the updates from Synology, a few months ago, got rid of this function, at least in the old form, and my NAS stopped backing up to my NAS4FREE machine.

The functionality is however still available. It’s in Synology’s Hyper Backup Package. This package will even remember the old settings from the Backup & Replication Backup.

I thought I will have a lot of work getting updates going again, but luckily I just had to start Hyper Backup.

By the way, Synology does now offer Snapshots, but unfortunately not for my model.

Leave a Reply

